Little Experiment!

March 1st marked the first day of Lent for those who practice the Catholic faith. We’re supposed to give up something we love for 40 days. Well, every year I give something up and it’s always something I am accustomed to either eating or drinking or doing every single day and I always crack about a week in.

I drink soda like no one’s business. I drink maybe 5 glasses a day, my drink of choice when I’m out is Rum and Coke. I keep getting lectured by everyone around me about how bad soda is and how I shouldn’t drink it like I do anymore because it’s going to kill me and I haven’t had any motivation to give it up until now.

Not only will I be giving up soda for Lent (Cris is giving up soda and also fast food) but I want to see if weight and also energy is tied directly to soda consumption. Each week I will check in about how the no soda thing is going for me and Cris’ no fast food or soda is going for him and also if I noticed any weight loss between the two of us. I’m also going to track my energy levels throughout the week and make a final conclusion based on this little Lent experiment.

It’s day 2, I haven’t craved soda like I usually do, I’ve been drinking lots of water and iced tea and this morning I woke up with super oily skin so I need to do a face mask tomorrow to get that under control. Other than the oily skin, my energy levels are pretty much the same and I haven’t had any kind of caffeine withdrawal yet. We’ll see how the week goes!

 

 

Leave a Reply

